Listen to this story



Real Madrid wins its 35th league

Lenin Boscaney
6 min read
Real Madrid wins its 35th league – News – WebMediums
Real Madrid is the top winner in LaLiga with 35 titles.

This Saturday Real Madrid and Espanyol met at the Santiago Bernabéu stadium for matchday 34 of LaLiga, where the 'merengue' team won by a landslide and was crowned champion with four rounds to go until the end of this edition.

Ancelotti made several rotations thinking about the second leg of the UEFA Champions League semi-finals to be played this Wednesday, May 4, also at the white house against Pep Guardiola's Manchester City.

Madrid comes from losing at the Etihad last Tuesday with a tight score of 4-3 in which the 'citizens' overwhelmed the white team, but the score ended up being quite open in the second leg due to the lack of effectiveness of the English team Although he scored four goals, they could easily have been more.

The Madrid coach this time came out with Courtois in goal; Lucas Vázquez, Casemiro, Jesús Vallejo and Marcelo in defense; in midfield Modric, Camavinga and Dani Ceballos; and in the attack with Asensio, Mariano and Rodrygo.

The game began with the initiative in attack of a local team that wanted the victory to be calmer in the face of the Champions League commitment. At minute 7, the public acclaimed the name "Cristiano Ronaldo" as a sign of encouragement for the moment of mourning that the Portuguese player goes through after the death of one of his newborn children.

At minute 12, the home side have a good opportunity through Mariano, who heads a ball to the far post, but between the goalkeeper and the post they deflect the ball to the corner. At 20' the 'parakeet' team responded with a powerful shot by Raúl de Tomás that Courtois deflected with his fists.

Two minutes later, Modric sends a cross into the area, specifically to the penalty spot, where Mariano Díaz heads and the ball goes high by very little. At 29', Madrid tried again and this time through Marcelo who launched a shot from the edge of the area that Diego López stopped without problems.

However, at 33' the scoring would open due to Rodrygo's great play. Two Brazilians would join in this action. Marcelo from the left passes it to Rodrygo, who, entering the area, dribbles past two defenses of the visiting team and takes a low cross shot that beats Diego López to convert the partial 1-0.

At minute 43 the second would come. Mariano pressed Espanyol's exit and because of this the ball fell, again, to Rodrygo who faced a defender and took the close shot to the first post, deceiving Diego López and thus making it 2-0. Brazilian double and with that marker they would go to rest.

Starting the second half, Espanyol would have two clear chances. The first at 47', a foul charged by Raúl de Tomás and his shot skimmed the post. The second would come a minute later, also due to a foul charged by Vilhena this time, the shot was deflected by Mariano and almost scored an own goal.

But at 55', Real Madrid sealed the match with a goal from Asensio. The play began with a recovery by Modric who gave it to Camavinga. The Frenchman escapes in speed leading a counterattack and passes it to Asensio who entered from the right sector of the area and he finishes off with a right cross to score the partial 3-0.

At minute 60 Ancelotti decides to move the bench. Modric, Mariano and Casemiro leave; and Kroos, Benzema and Isco enter. From that moment on, Camavinga became a central defender next to Vallejo.

At 62' a great opportunity would come for the visitors through Aleix Vidal who fired a powerful shot, Courtois deflected it. A minute later Darder launches a low cross that catches the Belgian goalkeeper off guard, but Lucas Vázquez ends up deflecting over the goal line.

At 70', Isco sends a filtered pass to Lucas Vázquez and he is left alone with Diego López and his shot grazes the post. A minute later there is an attack by Madrid through Benzema and he passes it to Isco at the penalty spot and the man from Malaga shoots first to score, but the VAR ends up annulling Rodrygo's goal for offside.

At minute 74 Camavinga and Rodrygo leave; and Gila and Vinicius enter. At 79' Courtois again stops a shot from Espanyol. Puado finishes off from the front, but the Belgian deflects with a great stretch.

However, at 81' Isco sends a filtered pass so that Vinicius escapes at speed and entering the area, passes to the penalty spot so that Benzema shoots from first to score the final 4-0.

Some numbers that this result leaves

Real Madrid wins its 35th league – News – WebMediums
The Real Madrid squad arriving at the Plaza de Cibeles for the celebration.

The match ends and Real Madrid becomes the champion of this edition of LaLiga. It has won it 35 times, being the club that has won the title the most times, ahead of Barcelona, the second team that has won it the most times (26 times). The last time that Real Madrid won LaLiga was in 2020 with Zidane as coach.

For his part, Carlo Ancelotti became the only coach to win the five most competitive leagues in Europe. He managed to lift the Scudetto with AC Milan in 2003-04, then won the Premier with Chelsea in 2009-10, in 2012-13 he won Ligue 1 with PSG, the Bundesliga in 2016-17 with Bayern Munich and with Real Madrid LaLiga in 2021-22.

For his part, Marcelo becomes the maximum winner of titles with Real Madrid, 24 in total and surpasses Gento. Madrid reaches 81 points, 17 more than Sevilla, which is second in the standings and mathematically it is already champion with four games to go before the end of this edition of LaLiga.

The celebration of the league title was held as usual in the Plaza de Cibeles where more than 150,000 fans attended and the great absentee was Gareth Bale who, published on his Twitter account, was not present due to "a spasm in his back"..

Other matches that took place this Saturday were:

  • Alaves 2 1 Villarreal.

  • Valencia 1 1 Raise.

  • Athletic Bilbao 2 0 Atletico Madrid.

Real Madrid will face Manchester City on Wednesday, which also thrashed this Saturday in the Premier, beating Leeds United 0-4 with goals from Rodri, Ake, Gabriel Jesús and Fernandinho.